Engage31: How to Choose the Perfect Wedding Venue

Hi all, I can’t believe January is over!! Per my last post in my new series Engage31, (excited about the feedback I’ve received so far by the way, S/O to Anne-Marie and speeray :)), I promised I would share my wedding planning journey with you, so here I am, ready to share the next steps I took after being engaged. Chris and I are now 8 months out from our wedding date, and we have done several tasks in the last month (no wonder it went by so fast!). The next big decision we made was booking our wedding venue. So today, I hope that with this post, I can be more helpful in your search of finding your perfect wedding venue.

So how do you choose the perfect wedding venue!!??? Most women will have a dream venue, while others will not. If you are most women, then you’re all set! Just make sure your dream venue is available on your date. However, if you are like me and you have never dreamed of your wedding venue -ever, it’s totally ok. I think that not having a dream venue has its advantages because there’s nothing to compare to and there are no big expectations, which makes it easier and more fun! For me, I feel that the best way on finding your perfect/dream venue is by understanding what you “want” and “do not want”. Before Chris and I dove into our venue hunting, we made a list of things important to us and we prioritized it. It looked something like this:

*budget (food & beverage min. vs rental)
*guests convenience (commute/accommodations/parking)
*decor/flowers
*food quality

When you site a venue that is just absolutely amazing, it really is hard not falling in-love with it! I really fell in-love with the Julia Morgan Ballroom in San Francisco 🙂 But it wasn’t the perfect venue for Chris and I. By jotting down the important things to both of us gave us clarity on the best/perfect venue for our wedding. We went back & forth for a whole week about which direction to go, but in the end, our list really helped us stay focused on our “needs” versus “wants”. And that’s how we were able to make a decision on our wedding venue, and feel really good about it! 🙂

For sure there are tons of questions you should ask when looking for your wedding venue. But I think the most important question is “what’s most important to you and your fiancĂ©?”

If you’re also in between wedding planning or thinking about shopping for your dream venue soon, I would love to hear about your list! Feel free to share in the comments below.

Until next time… happy planning!!! XOXO, MJ

3 thoughts on “Engage31: How to Choose the Perfect Wedding Venue

  1. Hi Anne-Marie! Thank you for your comment =) We booked the Palm Event Center in Pleasanton. We were impressed with the “guest arrival experience” – Chris describes it to be “magical” =) And it is important to us for our guests to have that experience as they arrive to our venue.

    Chris and I didn’t find Julia Morgan a good fit for us for 2 main reason…. First, budget – although the venue is beautiful (and yes, I truly love Julia Morgan’s style!), we really just wanted to stick with the budget we had set and also be able to splurge on other items more important to us than our venue. Second, style – although I really loved the venue’s overall style, I started to lean more towards a “modern-elegant” theme for my wedding. Julia Morgan is very elegant but more on the classic side. Very ornate and romantic – so if that is what you’re looking for, then it might be the venue for you! =) Are you planning your wedding as well??

    Thanks again for reading – your support means a lot and I hope to be more helpful in my future posts!
    Blessings,
    MJ

    Like

  2. Hi Anne-Marie! Thank you for your comment =) We booked the Palm Event Center in Pleasanton. We were impressed with the “guest arrival experience” – Chris describes it to be “magical” =) And it is important to us for our guests to have that experience as they arrive to our venue.

    Chris and I didn’t find Julia Morgan a good fit for us for 2 main reason…. First, budget – although the venue is beautiful (and yes, I truly love Julia Morgan’s style!), we really just wanted to stick with the budget we had set and also be able to splurge on other items more important to us than our venue. Second, style – although I really loved the venue’s overall style, I started to lean more towards a “modern-elegant” theme for my wedding. Julia Morgan is very elegant but more on the classic side. Very ornate and romantic – so if that is what you’re looking for, then it might be the venue for you! =) Are you planning your wedding as well??

    Thanks again for reading – your support means a lot and I hope to be more helpful in my future posts!
    Blessings,
    MJ

    Like

Feedback welcome! :)

